Iced Coconut Lime Green Tea

Hi friends! I hope you are all enjoying your day! I hope that where ever you are in the world it is warm and sunny!

Growing up I used to experiment with iced tea all the time. As soon as spring hit, my sisters and step-brothers would always beg me to make them a big pitcher of iced tea. I would search through the tea cupboard and grab a bunch of different tea flavors to brew together to make a tasty iced tea. I made a different blend every time. I always challenged myself to make it better than the last. Since then I have perfected it and can whip up a thirst-quenching batch within moments!

Ever since it has started to warm up I have been longing for a quality iced tea. After a bit of brainstorming, I came up with what I wanted to achieve. I decided to play with green tea, coconut, and lime came up with the perfect tropical iced tea! I love coconut and lime together. Adding green tea to the mix is a whole new game. This drink is perfect for a warm sunny day. I just know that you will make a batch any time you go to the beach, a picnic, family barbeque, etc.

Before you make this recipe be aware that the method of brewing is cold brew. So, it will not be ready the day that you prepare it. Also, you will be using loose leaf tea so you will need some sort of infuser. I recommend using a french press I have found that it works best for cold brew.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

For the best result, you are going to want to use a sencha green tea. In my opinion, it is the best for iced tea. I used Zen no Ocha Sencha Tea.

I would also recommend that your store your iced tea in a pitcher to preserve freshness for the maximum amount of time!

Now let’s begin!

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 teaspoons of loose green tea (preferable sencha)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon of sweetened shredded coconut (you can also use unsweetened, but your tea will not come out as sweet)
  • 3 1/2 cups of filtered water
  • 1 1/2 cup coconut water
  • Juice from 1/2 of a lime
  • 1/2 tablespoon of coconut sugar or a sweetener of your choice (you can adjust this based on how sweet you want your tea)
  • French press or an infuser of your choice
  • a pitcher to store your tea

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Preparation Instructions:

  1. Add the green tea and shredded coconut to your infuser. Add your 3 1/2 cups of filtered water, make sure it is room temperature or lukewarm.
  2. Stir the contents so that they are all submerged and then place in the refrigerator for 6-10 hours, depending on how steep you prefer your tea.
  3. Once your tea is brewed strain the tea leaves and coconut and pour into the pitcher.
  4. Then add the coconut sugar (or sweetener of your choice), the lime juice, and coconut water.
  5. Stir until the sugar dissolves.
  6. Pour over ice and enjoy!
  7. Optional: You can also garnish your tea with a sprig of mint for a little extra flavor.

20180420_120933

I hope you guys like this recipe! Let me know it the comments how it turned out! And if you follow me on Instagram send me pictures of your results!

Thank you for reading! Talk to you soon💖.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close